top of page
  • trace1282

Mario and Luigi mice


With the new Super Mario Bros. movie premiering soon, I wanted to create a card with the theme. Growing up in the 80's - 90's, my time was either consumed by school or playing Nintendo. My top two games were Super Mario (circa 1985) and Kirby's Dreamland (circa 1992 I think). It's probably the first opportunity I took to use swear words (sorry mom). Sitting next to my big sister, playing these games, our fingers hurting so bad from the tension, yet laughing because there wasn't anywhere else we wanted to be. I have such vivid memories of these days and hope they stay locked in the memory vault because it felt like perfection as a child. We didn't have Tik Tok, social media, cell phones or even computers and still had so much joy at that moment. Oh, if things were the same now. Well I guess things have to evolve eventually.



To create this card, I used the Lawn Fawn brick stencil, as well as a couple of their adorable mice from various sets. I colored their overalls green and red as well as giving them brown shirts (think the OG Nintendo game). Yes kids, the originals had these outfits, not the blue overalls you see today. I also used the Lawn Fawn cloudy dies to create the greenery in the background. To create the tunnel, I used green cardstock to trim down two rectangle pieces. I then ink blended with some Distress Ink in vintage photo. To add the clouds, I shopped my Lawn Fawn stamps until I found the right ones. These seems to fit perfectly, as the original clouds were nice and puffy. After finding the right blue for the sky, I glued everything together, and placed it on a card base with the sentiment "you are my hero" I thought that was fitting since Mario does same Princess Peach at the end of the game.


If you'd like to see more of these types of themes, please comment and let me know which you'd like to see. I may even pick one lucky person to receive it in the mail.

I encourage you to recreate this card and tag me on Instagram @craftwithme101


12 views0 comments
bottom of page